Your District Directors

Locate your township on the map to see which district you live in. The representatives for each district are listed below.

Directors Map

At-Large District Directors

Susan Bachert, Secretary-Treasurer
1940 S 250 W
North Judson, IN 46366
(574) 896-5609

Susan Bachert lives in Starke County. She is a program technician for the Starke County Farm Service Agency, where she has worked for 20 years. Susan has two grown daughters and is a member of the SS Cyril and Methodius Catholic Church in North Judson. Susan has been a Kankakee Valley REMC member for over 33 years and has completed all the classes necessary and received her Credentialed Cooperative Director’s Certificate from the National Rural Electric Cooperative Association in 2014. She was elected to the board in 2009 and has been serving as board secretary since 2010.


Andy Blastick

Andy Blastick
27 E. 150 S.
Valparaiso, Indiana 46383

Andy Blastick and his family live in Morgan Township and have been members since 2009. However, his extended family have been KVREMC members since the cooperative's inception 78 years ago. After graduating from Morgan Township High School, Blastick went on to receive a bachelor's degree in education from Indiana University. He is currently employed with the City of Valparaiso. Blastick is active in the community, serving on the advisory board for Morgan Township and also as a volunteer for the Porter County Fair. He served on the Kankakee Valley REMC board from 2010 to 2016 and earned a Credentialed Cooperative Director certificate from the National Rural Electric Cooperative Association. Blastick was then re-elected to the board in 2017.

District 1

Chris Birky

Chris Birky
527 E. State Road 8
Kouts, IN 46347
(219) 766-3270

Chris Birky is involved in farming with his brother in Morgan and Pleasant Townships. They raise corn, soybeans, and operate a small farrow to finish hog operation. They own and operate a family farm market, where they retail pork products, cater, and sell concessions. Chris operates a small manufacturing company that provides produce to pork and poultry producers. Chris and his wife Melissa reside in Pleasant Township and are members of Hopewell Mennonite Church, where Chris serves as one of the pastors. He has been a member of KV REMC for 14 years. He enjoys fishing, helping others and projects.

District 2

David Janney

David Janney
178 S. Palomino Lane
Valparaiso, IN 46383
(219) 201-9675

David Janney and his wife, Kim, have been Kankakee Valley REMC members since 2012. The couple resides in the Valparaiso/Morgan Township area with their four children. Janney received a Bachelor of Science degree in electrical engineering from Purdue University and is currently a LEED-certified professional electrical engineer. He is affiliated with the National Society of Professional Engineers (NSPE), Association of Energy Engineers (AEE), Illuminating Engineering Society of North America, Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers and Whiting Mosonic Lodge #613 F & AM. In his free time, Janney enjoys reading, fishing and spending time with family. Janney was elected to the board of directors in 2016.

District 3

Otto Werner

Otto Werner, President
5322 W. 1475 S.
Hanna, IN 46340
(219) 797-3545

Otto Werner and his wife Diana farm in LaPorte County. They have three children, Kimberly, Gregory, and Kelli. Otto is a member and Treasurer of the First Lutheran Church of Hanna, member of the LaPorte County Row Crop Food Producers and a sales representative for Pioneer Seed. Otto was elected to the REMC Board of Directors in 1991 and is currently serving as President of the board. Otto received his director certification from NRECA in 1992. Otto has been a member of the REMC for 37 years.

District 4

Mike Yankauskas

Mike Yankauskas
7492 E. 200 N.
Grovertown, IN 46531

Mike Yankauskas and his wife, Kate, have been Kankakee Valley REMC members since 1977 and reside near Grovertown. The couple have three sons and eight grandchildren. Yankauskas has a bachelors degree in biological science and agronomy from Purdue University. He is owner-operator of a farrow-to-finish hog farm. Yankauskas is active in the community where he serves as a board member for the Starke County Co-op and Knox Community Schools. He is also a member of St. Thomas Aquinas Catholic Church in Knox. Yankauskas previously served on the REMC board from 1990-2014 and served as president and vice president during that time. He also served as the co-op's representative on the board of Wabash Valley Power Association (our power supplier) where he served as president. Yankauskas was re-elected to the Kankakee Valley REMC board in 2017. He has received his Credentialed Cooperative Director certification and his Board Leadership certification from NRECA.

District 5

Kenneth Redlin

Kenneth Redlin, Vice President
4952 N. 800 W.
Winamac, IN 46996
(574) 896-3500

Kenneth Redlin is a farmer from Winamac. Ken and his wife, Linda, have four children: Genevieve, Elizabeth, Katrina, and Clay. Ken has served on the St. Peter's Lutheran School Board, PTL president and deacon. He has been president, secretary and treasurer of the North Judson Jaycees and is a member of the Pulaski County Farm Bureau. In 1994, he was elected to the Pulaski County ASC Committee. Ken was elected to the REMC Board of Directors in 1988 and has served as the REMC's Member System Representative to Wabash Valley Power Association. He currently serves as Vice President of the KVREMC board. Ken received his director certification from NRECA in 1993.